In case you want to become a Product Manager but you only know how to speak Spanish — En caso de que quieras convertirte en Product Manager, pero no sepas como communicate bien en inglés

Jorge Herna
3 min readMar 15, 2021

--

This is me at Antelope Island State Park in Utah

Since I learned a proper way to speak and write in English, I decided to publish almost every piece of paper in this language just to not lose my momentum and keep improving my way to convey my thoughts in English.
Truth is that as a Spanish speaker I cover almost half of the world, but the world has a lot of languages, and by keeping my English diction in shape I could connect with more people.

However, as a Product Manager, my intention always was to help people like me that are transitioning to this new role by showing them good tips, some case studies, and book recommendations. I used to live in the U.S and there, everything related to the Product scenario is big compared to Europe, or at least Spain.

As an English speaker, you can join places as Product Management HQ, Techqueria, Product School, and so on. Places where you can connect with people who want to become Product managers. You can find mentors, resources, and a big number of aids. But as a Spanish speaker, I couldn’t find anything similar to the organizations that I mentioned before but Spanish.

Thus, I thought: Is it fair that only people who know how to speak English well are the only ones who can keep up with Product Management?

Of course, my answer was no. To know how to speak English correctly, even if it is something important. Sometimes, it is not within your possibilities.

Therefore, I decided to write everything in this blog in Spanish too. Every post will be in both languages. I don’t know if this will affect people’s feed, but anyway, at least by doing this, I could be fair with those that want to enjoy my content but are not used to read in English.

That said, now let’s speak Spanish.

Si has llegado hasta aqui sin leer lo de arriba. En resumidas cuentas, lo que quiero decir, es que voy a escribir todo mi contenido relacionado con el rol de Product Manager también en español. A fin de cuentas es mi lengua, también el catalán, pero considero que haciendolo en castellano ya es suficiente.

El motivo detrás de esto, es que no es justo para las personas que no dominan de manera más fluida el inglés. Al final, lo que quiero es que cuantas más personas se puedan beneficiar de mi contenido de Product Manager mejor.

Al final, saber otro idioma no nos hace más dignos. Y a veces por posibilidad o lo que sea no lo aprendemos bien. Dicho esto, también recomiendo a aquellos que nunca se han lanzado con el inglés que empiecen poco a poco y sin vergüenza. En caso de que queráis una profesora 1:1, tengo la persona adecuada que os puedo recomendar.

A mi me ayudo a mejorar mucho mi inglés para aprobar el examen de admisión a UCLA.

Dicho esto, también quiero comunicaros que mi anterior “case study” ( ja, como si no existiese esta palabra en español) lo traduciré al castellano y el otro post sobre OKR que considero tan útil para los que quieran empezar una startup, también.

Muchas gracias por leer hasta aquí y si alguien quiere hablar conmigo sobre algo relacionado con el rol de PM, no dudes en contactar conmigo. No sabes la cantidad de gente a la que he spameado en mi proceso de transición.

Estamos en contacto en mi Linkedin / Twitter / web.

--

--

Jorge Herna

Hello everyone! This is Jorge Herna, Freelance Product Manager